For the Love of Coffee

I LOVE COFFEE. I LOVE IT!

There is something about waking up in the morning, cracking open the bag or jar of coffee, and immediately being encompassed in the smoky, warm, rich, chocolatey…powerful…..bold, well you get the point.

I am in love with smelling the dark brown grounds, and hearing the dripping and uneven stream of the wonderful product it makes when you combine water and ground coffee beans.  It makes waking up on Monday mornings well worth the pain and agony. It is a drug.  I need it so I don’t get headaches.  That’s the caffeine dependency showing.

I make all different kinds.  My new favorite is the highly caffeinated, cold-brewed version of coffee.  It’s less acidic, and a lot smoother.  The hints of chocolate and smoke show through it and make my day 10 times better than it would be if I had no coffee.

I haven’t tried it ever, but I would imagine that the way it used to be consumed wouldn’t be my style.

It started thousands of years ago in the hills of Ethiopia.  Soldiers would wrap the beans in animal fat and eat it as a primitive “Gatorade”  energy bar.  Later, coffee spread and was a highly sought after drink in Muslim culture.  The Pope, at the time, deemed it unholy.  He must’ve realized he was missing out though, because he sprinkled it with holy water to cleanse it.  It grew in popularity in Europe but obviously never outpaced tea.

After the Boston Tea Party, Americans adopted the beverage as an alternative.  Coffee wasn’t taxed like the tea which made it popular among the new Americans rebelling against the British.  Soldiers during the Civil War were dependent on their coffee and hard tack.  Some wouldn’t march unless they had received their rations.  The North made it tough for the South to get coffee and the barrier inflated prices in the South. Confederates came up with some less than desirable alternatives like chicory root.  Ew! They didn’t have much choice though.

Coffee drinking developed throughout WWI and WWII.  Many roasters cropped up, and the consumption of coffee grew exponentially.  Today, Americans drink on average 1 cup per day.  That’s about 9 pounds per year!

Let the popularity speak for itself, coffee is obviously the best drink there is.

18 thoughts on “For the Love of Coffee

Add yours

  1. I was a coffee addict too. But I hadn’t become so addicted to it that I couldn’t survive without it, it was just a preference every afternoon. My parents are addicted to tea though. My mother complains of a headache every time the smell of tea doesn’t waft throughout the house, so I sort of get what you mean. Also, I didn’t know all these facts about coffee! Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Certainly! I figured I’d share some knowledge. My freshman year of college I took a class all about coffee and it’s history. It was a very neat class and I leaned so much! I still have to books, so every now and then I refresh my memory of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank goodness for coffee. I can’t actually remember the last time I’ve went without coffee. Not only is it routine, I also get terrible caffeine headaches when I don’t have it. Awesome post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

